Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Debut Fiction Night: Clare Fisher and Fran Cooper

27 July @ 7:00 pm

| £3
fisher cooper


Book now

Join us for an evening of reading and discussion with debut novelists Clare Fisher (All the Good Things) and Fran Cooper (These Dividing Walls).

*All the Good Things is a story about redemption and hope for fans of Nathan Filer, Stephen Kelman and Emma Healey.*

Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn’t deserve ever to feel good again. But her counsellor, Erika, won’t give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her baby’s head.  But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing. What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone – even a 100% bad person – deserve a chance to be good?

*These Dividing Walls ‘tantalizingly evokes the sights and sounds of Paris while also giving us an eye-opening perspective of a side of the city that we don’t know much about. It is a nuanced portrayal of relationships and the whole spectrum of human emotions.’ (Book Riot)*

In a forgotten corner of Paris stands a building. Within its walls, people talk and kiss, laugh and cry; some are glad to sit alone, while others wish they did not. A woman with silver-blonde hair opens her bookshop downstairs, an old man feeds the sparrows on his windowsill, and a young mother wills the morning to hold itself at bay. Though each of their walls touches someone else’s, the neighbours they pass in the courtyard remain strangers. Into this courtyard arrives Edward. Still bearing the sweat of a channel crossing, he takes his place in an attic room to wait out his grief. But in distant corners of the city, as Paris is pulled taut with summer heat, there are those who meet with a darker purpose. As the feverish metropolis is brought to boiling point, secrets will rise and walls will crumble both within and without Number 37…

CLAIRE FISHER was born in Tooting, south London in 1987. After accidentally getting obsessed with writing fiction when she should have been studying for a BA in History at the University of Oxford, Clare completed an MA in Creative and Life Writing at Goldsmiths College, University of London.

An avid observer of the diverse area of south London in which she grew up, Clare’s writing is inspired by her long-standing interest in social exclusion and the particular ways in which it affects vulnerable women and girls. All The Good Things is her first novel. She now lives, writes and works as a bookseller in Leeds.

FRAN COOPER spent three years living in Paris, where her first novel, These Dividing Walls, is set. She now lives in Highbury with her fiancé and their three-legged cat, and works in the curatorial department of a London museum.

Details

Date:
27 July
Time:
7:00 pm
Cost:
£3

Organiser

Burley Fisher Books