Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Past Events

Events List Navigation

May 2017

Private View: No Shrubs, Grizelda Kitching

4 May @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Grizelda Kitching Poster_insta new

Grizelda Kitching No Shrubs 4May - 13 July 2017 Private view: Thursday 4 May, 7-9.30pm Burley Fisher Books are pleased to present No Shrubs, an exhibition of botanically-themed prints by artist Grizelda Kitching. In these recent works, she explores bright and bold natural forms, based on photographs taken at Peckham Rye and the Barbican conservatory in London as well as the exotic climes of Barbados, Mexico and Colombia. The stark shadows and textures of plants in the sun, in particular…

Find out more »

Saleem Haddad and Miriam Frank – Local Author Night

5 May @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
local authors 2

Join us for an evening with Saleem Haddad, who will be reading from his novel Guapa, and Miriam Frank, who will be reading from her memoir Unfinished Portrait. Guapa is a debut novel about a young gay man coming of age in the Middle East. Set over the course of twenty-four hours, the novel follows Rasa, a gay man living in an unnamed Arab country, and trying to carve out a life for himself in the midst of political and…

Find out more »

Magazine Workshop (ages 8-12)

6 May @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
scoop

Calling all budding authors, poets, illustrators and comic creators! Have you ever wanted to make your own story magazine? Join the team from Hackney-based Scoop for a masterclass in how to make a fabulous magazine full of all forms of storytelling. They’ll be showing you the various jobs involved and helping the group create their own magazine - there’s even a role for a joke writer, so come armed ready for laughs. The workshop will last around an hour and…

Find out more »

Book Launch – A Song for Kresy

6 May @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
polish heritage

Join us on Polish Heritage Day for an evening of readings and music to celebrate the launch of A Song for Kresy by Helen Bitner. A Song for Kresy is the story of one Polish family’s experience during and immediately after the second world war which although deeply personal, mirrors the experiences of thousands of Polish refugees who arrived in Britain after WW11. Helen wrote this book from the memories told and recorded by her husband Ryszard to pass on…

Find out more »
£4

Debut Novels Night: Sympathy and The End We Start From

11 May @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
olivia and megan

Join us for an evening of readings and conversation as we celebrate the publication of two debut novels, Sympathy by Olivia Sudjic and The End We Start From by Megan Hunter. SYMPATHY: At twenty-three, Alice Hare leaves England for New York. She becomes fixated on Mizuko Himura, a Japanese writer living in New York, whose life story has strange parallels to her own and whom she believes is her "internet twin." What seems to Mizuko like a chance encounter with…

Find out more »
June 2017

Book launch: The Wrong Story by James Ellis

10 June @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
WRONGSTORY_TPB1_finalfront

Join us for the launch of James Ellis’s debut novel, The Wrong Story. A cartoonist falls from a roof and is left with partial amnesia and a growing inability to distinguish between real and imaginary events. His characters assume a grimy reality while the lives of his family and friends appear ever more unreal. This is a story about the borderlands between imagination and the real world, the desire for self-determination and the obligations on a responsible creator. But mostly…

Find out more »

Launch: Ghosts on the Shore

21 June @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
ghosts

Join us for the London launch of Ghosts on the Shore: Travels along Germany's Baltic Coast by Paul Scraton, published by Influx Press. Paul will be joined by editor Gary Budden for a conversation about place, the stories of the Baltic and the themes raised in the book. There will be some readings, and Gary will host a Q & A. GHOSTS ON THE SHORE. Germany’s Baltic coast. A place of escape, of carefree summer holidays, of spa towns and…

Find out more »
July 2017

Ornithology: Nicholas Royle w/ Jonathan Coe

4 July @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
ornithology

We are delighted to invite you to join us for an evening of readings by Nicholas Royle and Jonathan Coe, to celebrate the release of Nicholas's new collection of short stories: Ornithology. Nicholas will read from his new collection; Jonathan will read from a newly-written story, and then the two will read together - of which we will reveal no more - before a conversation and Q&A. Don't miss out on this opportunity to hear these two fantastic authors read, and to get…

Find out more »
£5

Essayism: Brian Dillon in conversation with Jon Day

6 July @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
essayism

Join us to celebrate the publication of Brian Dillon’s erudite and elegiac Essayism, at once an exposition and an example of what the essay form can do. Dillon will be discussing the essay – his own and others’ – with Jon Day, academic and author of Cyclogeography. Imagine a type of writing so hard to define its very name means a trial, effort or attempt. An ancient form with an eye on the future, a genre poised between tradition and…

Find out more »
£3

Rings a Bell: Literary Quiz

13 July @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map

There's nothing new about literary quizzes in East London bookshops, but can you guess titles solely from a synopsis of the books? 'Rings a Bell?' is nothing more than a bit of fun on a weekday evening among bibliophile, cineaste and melomaniac company, but if you want to doggedly pursue it as an exercise in intellectual one-upmanship then that's fine as well. Hosts Anna Aslanyan and Andrew Stevens will unpick several lists of literary classics, sardonically and possibly shambolically, along…

Find out more »
£3

Debut Fiction Night: Clare Fisher and Fran Cooper

27 July @ 7:00 pm
fisher cooper

Join us for an evening of reading and discussion with debut novelists Clare Fisher (All the Good Things) and Fran Cooper (These Dividing Walls). *All the Good Things is a story about redemption and hope for fans of Nathan Filer, Stephen Kelman and Emma Healey.* Twenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn't deserve ever to feel good again. But her counsellor, Erika, won't give up on her. She asks Beth to make a…

Find out more »
August 2017
£5

Eye Magazine – Eye 94 Launch (8000 one-off covers)

17 August @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
eye logo

Join us to celebrate the latest edition of Eye, the international review of graphic design, with the team behind this locally based independent publication. Editor John L. Walters will be joined by art director Simon Esterson, art editor Holly Catford and assistant editor Sarah Snaith, plus special guests from Eye’s universe of graphic design, visual culture and design journalism. Eye 94 is a type special, with articles about MuirMcNeil, Nadine Chahine and Novo Typo, an extensive review section, and an…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events