Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Past Events

Events List Navigation

August 2017
£5

Eye Magazine – Eye 94 Launch (8000 one-off covers)

17 August @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
eye logo

Join us to celebrate the latest edition of Eye, the international review of graphic design, with the team behind this locally based independent publication. Editor John L. Walters will be joined by art director Simon Esterson, art editor Holly Catford and assistant editor Sarah Snaith, plus special guests from Eye’s universe of graphic design, visual culture and design journalism. Eye 94 is a type special, with articles about MuirMcNeil, Nadine Chahine and Novo Typo, an extensive review section, and an…

Find out more »

Launch: Every Fox is a Rabid Fox – Harry Gallon

24 August @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
every fox

Join Dead Ink Books and Harry Gallon for the launch of his second novel, Every Fox is a Rabid Fox! Following on from the crowdfunding campaign a few months ago, Harry would like to invite you all to Burley Fisher Books on Thursday 24th August to say a HUGE thank you for all of your patience and support. If you pledged, your book will be in the post in July. If you still need one, copies will be available on the night,…

Find out more »

Warewolff! launch and performance

31 August @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
PINK WW BF

Join us to be ambushed by Gary J Shipley’s Warewolff!: a lyric, sick-humoured and immoral morass of a novel told through reportage from the least-illuminated corners of the human condition. Extracts of the book will performed in the style of a tribute to the early Dadaist readings of a century ago. Three performers will embody the texts against an improvised accompaniment on self-constructed long-stringed instruments alongside oscillators and filter banks, rendering Warewolff! in a fitting mode – a true howl…

Find out more »
September 2017
£3

EYOT 3 Launch

8 September @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
eyot 3 launch

Eyot Magazine returns to Burley Fisher Books, this time occupying the newly opened basement space, to celebrate the publication of Eyot 3. There will be a number of readings, and there will be drinks. Eyot is a magazine for new poetry, short fiction, nonfiction and visual art, in print and online. £3* *includes a Venice spritz

Find out more »
£3

Meetup: Psychotherapy Today

9 September @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
psychotherapy

Interested in contemporary Psychoanalytic or Jungian psychotherapy and thinking? Join us for some tea and find out about the British Psychotherapy Foundation course: Psychotherapy Today. A chance to hear psychotherapists Serena Wilmott and Jo-anne Carlyle in conversation about what Psychoanalysis has to offer in today’s world. There will be an opportunity to ask questions about the course; to think about the importance of Psychoanalytic and Jungian ideas in society today; and ask about routes to training as a psychotherapist. £3…

Find out more »

Launch: The Doll’s Alphabet by Camilla Grudova

12 September @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
dolls alphabet

Please join us to celebrate THE DOLL'S ALPHABET, published in February 2017 by Fitzcarraldo Editions, on the occasion of a rare visit by Camilla Grudova from Canada. There will be a short reading. There will be drinks. The event is free to attend. Surreal, ambitious and exquisitely conceived, THE DOLL'S ALPHABET is a collection of stories in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood. Dolls, sewing machines, tinned foods, mirrors, malfunctioning bodies – many images recur in stories that…

Find out more »

Launch: So the Doves by Heidi James

14 September @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
do the doves

Heidi James returns to Burley Fisher Books for the launch of her new novel, So the Doves. There will readings, drinks, origami and a chance to buy copies of the book.   When award-winning journalist Marcus Murray's latest story uncovers a corrupt alliance between a UK bank, the arms trade and the government, it seems he has triumphed again in his quest for the truth. But he is accused of fabrication and nothing in his life makes sense any more,…

Find out more »

Disegno #16 Issue Preview

18 September @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
DIsegno 16 invite

Please join us at the shop for an event to celebrate the latest issue of Disegno. For more information on the magazine please visit their website: https://www.disegnodaily.com/

Find out more »
£12

Life Drawing at Burley Fisher

24 September @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
life drawing

Life drawing classes on every last Sunday of the month from 4.00-6pm. The classes have a relaxed atmosphere and all levels are welcome, from beginner to well practised artists. Each session will begin with a series of short poses, ending in one longer pose to focus on. Constructive feedback and pointers will be available if you'd like coaching, or just come along and create uninterrupted! We will be using a variety of artists materials, exploring a range of drawing techniques.…

Find out more »
£3

Luiza Sauma and Laura Kaye – Debut Authors Night #3

28 September @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
luiza laura

Join us for the third edition of our DEBUT AUTHORS NIGHT, with readings from Laura Kaye, author of English Animals, and Luiza Sauma, author of Flesh and Bone and Water. LAURA KAYE grew up in rural Oxfordshire. She worked in television for ten years on music documentaries before her debut novel English Animals was published by Little, Brown in 2017. In 2011 she took a year out of work to do the MA in Creative & Life Writing at Goldsmiths…

Find out more »
October 2017

Launch: The Hotel Tito by Ivana Bodrožić

4 October @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Hotel Tito Invitation 4 October (1)

Seven Stories Press UK invite you to celebrate the publication of the finest work of fiction about the Yugoslav wars: Ivana Bodrožić’s The Hotel Tito.   IVANA BODROŽIĆ was born in Vukovar in 1982 where she lived until the Yugoslav wars started in 1991 when she then moved to Kumrovec where she stayed with her family at a hotel for displaced persons. She studied at the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences in Zagreb. In 2005, she published her first poetry…

Find out more »
£4

Baking With Kafka – Tom Gauld

5 October @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
tom gauld

Join us to celebrate the publication of multi-award-winning cartoonist Tom Gauld’s Baking With Kafka. Tom will give a short presentation about the book and his practice in general, and take questions from the audience. Collecting together one hundred and fifty riotous and laugh-out-loud one page works, Baking With Kafka asks the questions no one else dares ask about civilisation as we know it. From the key to the success of Neil Gaiman’s ‘Norse Mythology’ book tour to the explicit and…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events