Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Past Events

Events List Navigation

March 2017
£3

Discussion and Live Music with Dave Randall

23 March @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
dave randall

Join us for an evening of discussion and live music with Dave Randall, to mark the celebration of Sound System: The Political Power of Music. Musicians have often wanted to change the world, and many—from underground grime artists to mainstream pop icons—channel that desire through the political power of music. Music has a unique ability to unsettle the most fundamental political and social conventions—or, alternatively, to stabilize the status-quo. SOUND SYSTEM is the story of one musician’s journey to discover what…

Find out more »
April 2017
£5

SOLD OUT Ecstatic Peace Library: CA Conrad, Thurston Moore and Sophie Robinson

6 April @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
ecstatic peace library event

Join us for an evening of readings by CA Conrad, Thurston Moore and Sophie Robinson, organised by the Ecstatic Peace Library. Publications by the three writers will be available. CA CONRAD'S childhood included selling cut flowers along the highway for his mother and helping her shoplift. The author of 9 books of poetry and essays, the latest is titled While Standing In Line For Death and is forthcoming from Wave Books (September 2017). He is a Pew Fellow and has…

Find out more »
£5

This Young Monster: Charlie Fox in conversation w/ Juliet Jacques

19 April @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
this young monster

Join us for an evening of readings and conversation with Charlie Fox and Juliet Jacques This Young Monster is a hallucinatory celebration of artists who raise hell, transform their bodies, anger their elders and show their audience dark, disturbing things. What does it mean to be a freak? Why might we be wise to think of the present as a time of monstrosity? And how does the concept of the monster irradiate our thinking about queerness, disability, children and adolescents?…

Find out more »
£4

Sunday Salon: Aleš Šteger in conversation with Stephen Watts

23 April @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
absolution

Join us for a special event to celebrate the publication of Aleš Šteger's Absolution. It's Carnival time, and the Slovenian city of Maribor is European Capital of Culture. In an attempt to maximize profit, local politicians and showman peddle every possible art form. Amidst the hype, dramatist Adam Bely and Cuban-Austrian journalist Rosa Portero pursue a secret mission: to track down and overthrow the sinister octopus of thirteen selected persons that seems to be in control. In the tradition of Bulgakov, Gogol…

Find out more »

Happy Ending NOT Guaranteed – Liam Hogan w/ Carrie Cohen

26 April @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
happy ending not

Join us to celebrate the launch of Liam Hogan’s Happy Ending Not Guaranteed, his collection of eerie, darkly unsettling and frequently funny, fantasy stories. Liam will be joined by the actor Carrie Cohen. In the realms of fantasy, it is foolish to upset the wee folk. Downright dangerous to incur the curse of a witch. And above all, it is perilous to ignore a warning. Happy Ending Not Guaranteed contains 27 stories of dark fantasy, from chess-playing automatons to smooth-talking…

Find out more »
May 2017

Private View: No Shrubs, Grizelda Kitching

4 May @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Grizelda Kitching Poster_insta new

Grizelda Kitching No Shrubs 4May - 13 July 2017 Private view: Thursday 4 May, 7-9.30pm Burley Fisher Books are pleased to present No Shrubs, an exhibition of botanically-themed prints by artist Grizelda Kitching. In these recent works, she explores bright and bold natural forms, based on photographs taken at Peckham Rye and the Barbican conservatory in London as well as the exotic climes of Barbados, Mexico and Colombia. The stark shadows and textures of plants in the sun, in particular…

Find out more »

Saleem Haddad and Miriam Frank – Local Author Night

5 May @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
local authors 2

Join us for an evening with Saleem Haddad, who will be reading from his novel Guapa, and Miriam Frank, who will be reading from her memoir Unfinished Portrait. Guapa is a debut novel about a young gay man coming of age in the Middle East. Set over the course of twenty-four hours, the novel follows Rasa, a gay man living in an unnamed Arab country, and trying to carve out a life for himself in the midst of political and…

Find out more »

Magazine Workshop (ages 8-12)

6 May @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
scoop

Calling all budding authors, poets, illustrators and comic creators! Have you ever wanted to make your own story magazine? Join the team from Hackney-based Scoop for a masterclass in how to make a fabulous magazine full of all forms of storytelling. They’ll be showing you the various jobs involved and helping the group create their own magazine - there’s even a role for a joke writer, so come armed ready for laughs. The workshop will last around an hour and…

Find out more »

Book Launch – A Song for Kresy

6 May @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
polish heritage

Join us on Polish Heritage Day for an evening of readings and music to celebrate the launch of A Song for Kresy by Helen Bitner. A Song for Kresy is the story of one Polish family’s experience during and immediately after the second world war which although deeply personal, mirrors the experiences of thousands of Polish refugees who arrived in Britain after WW11. Helen wrote this book from the memories told and recorded by her husband Ryszard to pass on…

Find out more »
£4

Debut Novels Night: Sympathy and The End We Start From

11 May @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
olivia and megan

Join us for an evening of readings and conversation as we celebrate the publication of two debut novels, Sympathy by Olivia Sudjic and The End We Start From by Megan Hunter. SYMPATHY: At twenty-three, Alice Hare leaves England for New York. She becomes fixated on Mizuko Himura, a Japanese writer living in New York, whose life story has strange parallels to her own and whom she believes is her "internet twin." What seems to Mizuko like a chance encounter with…

Find out more »
June 2017

Book launch: The Wrong Story by James Ellis

10 June @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
WRONGSTORY_TPB1_finalfront

Join us for the launch of James Ellis’s debut novel, The Wrong Story. A cartoonist falls from a roof and is left with partial amnesia and a growing inability to distinguish between real and imaginary events. His characters assume a grimy reality while the lives of his family and friends appear ever more unreal. This is a story about the borderlands between imagination and the real world, the desire for self-determination and the obligations on a responsible creator. But mostly…

Find out more »

Launch: Ghosts on the Shore

21 June @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Burley Fisher Books,
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
ghosts

Join us for the London launch of Ghosts on the Shore: Travels along Germany's Baltic Coast by Paul Scraton, published by Influx Press. Paul will be joined by editor Gary Budden for a conversation about place, the stories of the Baltic and the themes raised in the book. There will be some readings, and Gary will host a Q & A. GHOSTS ON THE SHORE. Germany’s Baltic coast. A place of escape, of carefree summer holidays, of spa towns and…

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events