Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Sunday Salon: Aleš Šteger in conversation with Stephen Watts

23rd April 2017 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

£4

Book now

Join us for a special event to celebrate the publication of Aleš Šteger’s Absolution.

It’s Carnival time, and the Slovenian city of Maribor is European Capital of Culture. In an attempt to maximize profit, local politicians and showman peddle every possible art form. Amidst the hype, dramatist Adam Bely and Cuban-Austrian journalist Rosa Portero pursue a secret mission: to track down and overthrow the sinister octopus of thirteen selected persons that seems to be in control.

In the tradition of Bulgakov, Gogol and Kafka Aleš Šteger lets the forces of good and evil collide in this grandiose literary thriller. This is a debut novel filled with striking personae, haunting images and a grotesque plot. It proves, in the end, to be a journey into the heart of a European darkness. 

Join the author in conversation with the poet Stephen Watts

Sunday, 23rd April, 4pm

Details

Date:
23rd April 2017
Time:
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Cost:
£4

Venue

Burley Fisher Books
400 Kingsland Road
London, e8 4aa United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Website:
www.burleyfisherbooks.com